Community Development

DUE TO THE RECENT SURGE IN COVID-19 CASES AND TO LIMIT THE SPREAD OF THE CORONAVIRUS, THE COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT IS PROVIDING SERVICES BY APPOINTMENT ONLY.

To schedule an appointment, please contact:

PLANNING DIVISION

Norma Hernandez at (323) 563-9514 or nhernandez@sogate.org

Yalini Siva at (323) 563-9526 or ysiva@sogate.org

BUILDING AND SAFETY

Sandra Varela at (323) 563-9558 or svarela@sogate.org

Jesus Murillo at (323) 563-9519 or jmurillo@sogate.org

Norma Cardenas at (323) 563-9556 or ncardenas@sogate.org

HOUSING

Jose Montano at (323) 563-9531 or jmontano@sogate.org

Welcome to the Department of Community Development home page. The Community Development Department performs a variety of services intended to improve the built environment and the quality of life for current and future residents, businesses, and visitors. We are able to achieve these goals by exploring new ideas, valuing differences of opinion, engaging our community in discussions, and building consensus with stakeholders on planning and development issues. 

The Community Development Department consists of five divisions: 

The Planning division reviews, manages, and plans development consistent with the General Plan, Municipal Code, and the well-being of residents, visitors, property owners, and businesses of the City of South Gate. The Building & Safety division reviews construction plans, issues permits, provides inspections, and ensures code compliance.

Housing Element Update CM 1